TL;DR
Get wellness gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Gold’s Gym has named NASM’s Certified Personal Trainer credential the official certification for its Gold’s Standard Personal Trainer program at company-owned locations. The partnership also brings NASM’s ClubConnect PRO platform and additional credentials into those clubs’ staff-development system; details about rollout timing and franchise participation were not reported.
Gold’s Gym has named the National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM) its official personal-training certification partner for the Gold’s Standard Personal Trainer program at company-owned locations. The agreement also adds NASM’s ClubConnect PRO platform and credentials to the gyms’ trainer-development system, giving the chain a shared structure for education, staff development and progression.
Under the partnership, trainers in Gold’s Gym’s company-owned clubs will use the NASM Certified Personal Trainer (CPT) credential as the official certification for the Gold’s Standard program. Gold’s is also integrating ClubConnect PRO, which provides education, coursework and tools for trainer-client engagement. The platform gives the company a centralized way to support and manage staff development across participating clubs.
The agreement extends beyond an entry-level certification. NASM certifications, specializations and other credentials will be incorporated into Gold’s Gym’s personal-training leveling system, creating a structured route for trainers to advance within the company. NASM’s Physique and Bodybuilding Coach specialization will be a standard advanced credential available to trainers at company-owned locations.
Gold’s Gym CEO Brad Reynolds said the company wants to strengthen the quality and consistency of coaching. NASM CEO Mehul Patel described the partnership as a way to give trainers a path to grow after their initial certification. The source report did not specify when the new system will be fully implemented or whether individual trainers must complete particular credentials by a set deadline.
For trainers at company-owned Gold’s Gym clubs, the arrangement links certification, continuing education and advancement through one partner’s credentials and platform. Rather than treating a CPT qualification as the only milestone, the company plans to use further NASM credentials in its internal leveling system. That may give trainers a clearer way to understand what additional qualifications are relevant to progression, although the specific levels, requirements and employment consequences were not detailed.
For members, the partnership could bring more consistency to how trainers are educated and supported across company-owned clubs. Gold’s says raising coaching standards is part of how it serves members, but the announcement offers no outcome data showing changes in trainer performance, member experience or fitness results. The practical effect will depend on implementation, participation and how the credentials are applied on the gym floor.
The advanced bodybuilding specialization also reflects an area closely associated with Gold’s Gym’s strength-training identity. Making it a standard available credential may help trainers develop expertise aligned with that tradition. It does not establish that every trainer will hold the specialization or that all members will receive bodybuilding-focused coaching.
NASM Certified Personal Trainer certification
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Company-Owned Clubs Are the Scope
The partnership applies to Gold’s Gym’s company-owned locations, not automatically to every gym operating under the brand. Gold’s website lists around 60 company-owned clubs, while the brand has more than 500 locations globally, including franchises, according to the source report. The agreement’s stated reach is therefore narrower than Gold’s total international footprint.
The announcement comes as NASM develops relationships with other large gym operators. The source report says NASM and Crunch Fitness launched a guaranteed first-round interview program the previous month for eligible NASM-certified trainers applying to open positions across Crunch’s corporate and franchise gyms. NASM also launched a similar program with Life Time earlier in the year. Those arrangements concern recruitment, while the Gold’s Gym deal centers on certification and ongoing staff development.
Gold’s Gym describes personal training as an important part of its member experience. The new agreement gives that work a formal certification partner and adds a digital platform for education and management. The report does not say that Gold’s is ending other training arrangements or that NASM certification will be required for every trainer already working at a company-owned club.
““Personal training has always been an important part of the Gold’s Gym experience, and continuing to raise the standard for our trainers is critical to how we serve our members.””
— Brad Reynolds, Gold’s Gym CEO
ClubConnect PRO trainer management platform
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Rollout and Franchise Details
The report does not give a launch schedule, say whether the system is already active in any locations, or explain how existing trainers will be brought into the program. It also does not state whether NASM credentials will be mandatory for current staff, what requirements apply at each trainer level, or whether credentials will affect promotion or compensation.
Franchise participation is also not established. The agreement is described as applying to company-owned locations, while the brand has a much larger network that includes franchises. Gold’s Gym and NASM did not provide, in the material available, details about extending the partnership to those independently operated clubs. The announcement also does not provide measures for evaluating changes in coaching quality or member outcomes.
personal trainer certification courses
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Implementation Across Gold’s Clubs
The next step is the rollout of ClubConnect PRO and the NASM credential pathway across the covered company-owned locations. Gold’s Gym and NASM have not announced a timetable, so the pace and sequence of implementation remain unknown. Further information would be needed to clarify training requirements, how the existing workforce will be supported and how advancement levels will be defined.
Readers can also watch for clarification on whether the partnership will expand to Gold’s franchise locations. Until the companies provide those details, the confirmed scope remains company-owned clubs, with no stated commitment covering the full global network.
bodybuilding coach specialization NASM
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What did Gold’s Gym and NASM announce?
Gold’s Gym named NASM’s Certified Personal Trainer credential the official certification for its Gold’s Standard Personal Trainer program at company-owned locations. The deal also includes ClubConnect PRO and NASM credentials in Gold’s trainer-development system.
Does the partnership cover every Gold’s Gym?
No such company-wide franchise coverage was announced. The reported agreement applies to company-owned locations. Gold’s has around 60 company-owned clubs and more than 500 locations globally, including franchises, according to the source report.
What is ClubConnect PRO?
It is NASM’s platform for education, coursework and trainer-client engagement tools. Gold’s Gym is integrating it at covered clubs as a centralized system for staff development and management.
Will every Gold’s Gym trainer need NASM certification?
The announcement identifies NASM’s CPT credential as the official certification for the Gold’s Standard program, but it does not explain requirements for current employees, set deadlines or say whether certification will be mandatory for every trainer.
When does the new program begin?
The source report gives no specific rollout date. Gold’s Gym and NASM have not provided a timetable in the reported announcement.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
