TL;DR
Get wellness gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The Good Trade has published an editorial guide to five sunrise alarm clocks, comparing options for features such as two-stage alarms, natural materials and simple, phone-free operation. The supplied source gives full details for Loftie and Rise Centered, but not the remaining three picks, so a complete five-product comparison cannot be verified here.
The Good Trade has published a guide to five sunrise alarm clocks, presenting the devices as options for people seeking a gradual, light-based wake-up rather than relying only on a conventional alarm. The supplied material details two picks—Loftie, starting at $170, and Rise Centered, starting at $199—but does not include the names or specifications of the other three products.
The guide describes sunrise alarms, also called dawn simulators, as clocks that increase light gradually before wake-up time. It says the editors selected products after researching them, contacting brands and reviewing customer feedback. Their stated criteria include ease of use, features intended to imitate a natural waking cycle, and attention to recycled or natural materials and sustainability. The source does not provide test protocols or comparative performance measurements.
Loftie is recommended for sound variety and has a two-phase alarm: a soft sound that fades after 30 seconds, followed by a melody that begins three, six or nine minutes later. Its listed features include bedtime reminders, sleep sounds, an adjustable night light and a non-Wi-Fi mode; the guide says a phone is needed for setup. The starting price given is $170. Good Trade Editorial Director Emily McGown said in a review excerpt that she had “never been woken so gently.”
Rise Centered, listed from $199, is described as a small-batch, handmade clock made with Himalayan salt and a beech or walnut base. It offers a 30-minute sunrise simulation and a night-light function, and does not require Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, according to the guide. It has one alarm sound and supports one alarm at a time. A customer quoted in the source praised its appearance and simplicity, but that is an individual testimonial, not independent evidence of sleep or health effects.
Morning light · Buying guide
Which Sunrise Alarm Clock Fits Your Morning Routine?
The Good Trade’s guide names five picks, but the supplied source describes only two. Compare the available details, then check the full current list before choosing.
01 / The two documented picks
Choose your wake-up style
Both clocks use gradual light. Their listed features point to different priorities: customizable sound and a staged alarm, or a phone-free, lamp-like setup.
Loftie
Recommended for sound variety
A two-phase alarm begins softly, then follows with a melody after a short delay. The guide says a phone is needed for initial setup.
- Soft sound fades after 30 seconds
- Melody begins 3, 6, or 9 minutes later
- Bedtime reminders and sleep sounds
- Adjustable night light
- Non-Wi-Fi mode listed
- Phone required for setup
“I’ve never been woken so gently.” Emily McGown, Good Trade editorial director, in a review excerpt
Rise Centered
A simpler, natural-material design
A small-batch, handmade clock made with Himalayan salt and a beech or walnut base. The guide describes a 30-minute sunrise simulation.
- No Wi-Fi or Bluetooth required
- 30-minute sunrise simulation
- Night-light function
- One alarm sound
- One alarm at a time
- Natural-material construction
“Very beautiful and well thought out.” Customer comment quoted in the guide; an individual testimonial
Other picks are not identified in the supplied material. Their names, prices, features, and selection rationale cannot be verified from this excerpt.
02 / Side-by-side
What the available source says
| Feature | Loftie | Rise Centered |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $170 | $199 |
| Alarm approach | Two-stage sound; delayed melody | One alarm sound; one alarm at a time |
| Light features | Adjustable night light | 30-minute sunrise simulation and night light |
| Connectivity | Phone required for setup; non-Wi-Fi mode listed | No Wi-Fi or Bluetooth required |
| Materials | Not specified in supplied details | Himalayan salt; beech or walnut base |
| Best fit from listed features | More sound options and a staged wake-up | Simpler operation and a natural-material look |
03 / How to read the claims
Useful context before you buy
The guide frames gradual light as a dawn-like wake-up approach. Its supplied text does not include product-specific clinical evidence or enough study details to assess broader claims about sleep, mood, or alertness.
Compare the routine
Decide whether staged sound, a night light, or minimal connectivity matters most.
Check the setup
Confirm phone, account, Wi-Fi, alarm, and sound requirements with the maker.
Verify current terms
Review current price, included features, shipping, returns, and warranty details.
Read claims carefully
Treat these as consumer wake-up products, not proven treatments for sleep conditions.
04 / Editorial context
What is—and is not—established
The Good Trade says editors research products, contact brands, review customer feedback, and consider ease of use, waking features, and materials.
The supplied source gives no test protocol, side-by-side performance measures, or full details for the research it references about light and alertness.
The publication says it may earn commissions through some links. Its methodology and business-model pages were not included in the supplied material.
The guide says its recommendations are revisited regularly, but the supplied excerpt gives no publication date or next review schedule.
Choosing a Wake-Up Style
The comparison is useful because the two described clocks suit different priorities. Loftie offers more sound choices and a staged alarm, while Rise Centered emphasizes natural materials, a simpler setup and a lamp-like design. The price difference is $29 based on the listed starting prices, though the source does not state whether prices include taxes, shipping or optional features.
The practical choice depends on how a person wants to wake: gradual light can be paired with sound, and some buyers may prefer a device that does not depend on Wi-Fi. But the guide’s descriptions do not establish that either product will improve sleep, mood or alertness for every user. Those outcomes can vary, and the supplied material does not present product-specific clinical evidence.
Products Worth Considering

Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W Charger

EGO Power+ LB8803-2 Cordless Leaf Blower, 880 CFM, with Two 4.0Ah Batteries

RYOBI SC165VS 16-Inch Corded Scroll Saw
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Guide Assesses Clocks
The Good Trade says its editors research and review sleep-related products and that its picks are revisited regularly as new favorites emerge. The publication also discloses a commercial relationship: it may earn a commission on purchases made through some links. It points readers to a separate methodology and business-model explanation, but that material was not included in the supplied source.
The article frames gradual light as a way to mimic aspects of morning sunlight and cites research associating light exposure with improved subjective alertness. The provided text does not identify the study, its participants or its conditions, so that statement cannot be evaluated in detail from this material. The clocks should be understood as consumer wake-up products, not as proven treatments for sleep problems or circadian-rhythm conditions.
““When it comes to function, I have to say I’ve never been woken so gently.””
— Emily McGown, Good Trade editorial director, in a review of Loftie
Missing Details on Three Picks
The supplied source cuts off during the Rise Centered customer review and does not identify the other three clocks named in the headline. Their prices, features, selection rationale and any editor or customer comments therefore cannot be reported. The guide’s publication date is also absent, despite saying that the list is updated regularly.
It is not clear from the material how the editors tested the clocks, what specific research supports the description of their technology as science-backed, or how the products compare under the same conditions. Claims about better sleep, mood and energy are presented broadly in the source and should not be read as guaranteed effects of these particular devices.
Check the Full Product List
Readers comparing all five products will need to consult the complete, current Good Trade guide for the missing picks and any updated prices or specifications. Before buying, they can check the manufacturer’s current feature list, alarm controls, return terms and whether setup requires a phone or account. The source says the editorial list is updated regularly, but it gives no date or schedule for its next review.
Key Questions
What does a sunrise alarm clock do?
It gradually increases light before a set wake time, aiming to imitate a dawn-like change in brightness. Some models also use sound. The supplied guide describes this as a wake-up approach, not a guaranteed way to improve sleep or health.
Which two clocks are described in the available source?
The source provides details for Loftie, listed from $170, and Rise Centered, listed from $199. It does not include information about the other three picks in the headline’s five-product list.
Does Loftie require a phone?
The guide says a phone is required for initial setup. It also lists a non-Wi-Fi mode, but does not explain whether every feature remains available without a phone after setup.
Does Rise Centered connect to Wi-Fi or Bluetooth?
According to the guide, Rise Centered does not require Wi-Fi or Bluetooth to get started. It has one alarm sound and allows one alarm to be set at a time.
Source: thegoodtrade.com
